Home > PixelSense > SAMSUNG SUR40 Black Screen Scenario

SAMSUNG SUR40 Black Screen Scenario

I was recently browing the Surface forum and discover a topic about a guy which gets for no reason after 10 minutes, his SUR40 unit going to a black screen state.
I was quite surprise to see that a month after reading that post I sudenly face to the same issue. Now I am wondering why I have read it :-).

What was strange in all I could notice is that the scenario of the balck screen was occuring only when running the unit in pure Surface mode.
So as a normal use, I start to press the power button to get the menu and press Surface Exit Mode, but it has no effect at all. The only thing that work was switching of the power.
I start then to incriminate the Windows update service, which by default advise for a reboot after 10 mn when update gets downloaded. No luck that was not the case.
Then I start to increminate a kind of software problem, so in order to be sure I restore my unit to factory default. At this time it is a brand new unit based on softaware, and drivers..

But the problem still remains…
After all my test and validaded procedure, I decide to contact Samsung, which then decide to change the CPU board and trouble is gone.

So if one day you met such situation, and you made all test you can in order to be in a state as you would receive the unit, then you have a chance to be in such scenario.

I would like to thanks them anyway for they fast action to get my unit up and running again

Categories: PixelSense Tags:
  1. Nick
    October 4, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Hi, we’re having the same issue with one of our units at the moment, I’d like to know if the new cpu board is the only fix for this? It seems strange that a hardware fix is needed for an issue that only appears under surface mode 😦

  2. Serge
    October 4, 2012 at 8:49 am

    if you have go through steps that I met and if you have tried also to recover the unit to it’s factory install, and the problem is still here. you have done all you can do on software side.
    Based on hardware you cannot do much, so I would recomend you to call samsung , describe your issue and you will see.

    For me they change the cpu board and update the firmware, and I can say that from that time problem did not occurs again.

  3. Nick
    October 4, 2012 at 8:54 am

    We have multiple tables, the application runs fine on the other tables which are identical, so it must be the same issue. Do you know which firmware was updated? The bios?

    • Serge
      October 8, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      The firmware version which is displayed when you press on the on off button.
      Note that updating the firmware will not solve your dark screen.
      I Discuss today with a Samsung technicien and there seems to be a bad series of cards which was causing this.
      We have 3 SUR40 in our company and only one get that issu.

  4. Artur
    October 13, 2012 at 9:38 am

    … to be short SUR40 does not work, except a basement (even there it has problems). Microsoft and Samsung fooled all companies, they based them business on it. GIANT PROBLEMS with the sunlight!!!

    • Serge
      October 13, 2012 at 10:04 am

      @Arthur, I am sorry I cannot let you say that. The samsung SUR40 is a new product and new technology. As most of our customers, before they go for buying it we explain them clearly what the product is intent for and how it should be place the environement. After we explain clearly all the thing and they are aware about it, they are fully happy with the product simply because they take in account the environment. There is a venue guide which explain all this. It is clear that the SUR40 cannot be place everywhere without studying the environement. You want to be short, but sorry I will be long.. Based on the lighting MS is actually working on a filter solution to reduce sunlight and first test looks promising. Next based on the topic of that post, the Black screen, it is a known issue from both side MS and Samsung and they have replace my CPU board and Graphic card within 24 hours. Thanks fro theire quick action. Seems to be related to a abd series of cards. Anyway know my unit works.

      • Nick
        October 15, 2012 at 9:02 am

        Serge, do you have a source for the filter solution? Is it hardware or software based? I’d like to know more about this, it would save us from having to buy a few party tents 🙂

      • Serge
        October 15, 2012 at 10:17 pm

        @nick, I get information directly from PixelSense team. They are working on testing different filter scenario which are based on a film that will be place directly on screen.
        For the time beeing I recommand my customer to use kind of canope or big umbrella integration well integrated.
        Stay tune on my blog once official solution will be avalable I will drop a note here.

  5. Iain
    November 8, 2012 at 11:21 am

    This is just the answer i have been looing for, we have this very problem with out surface to. I had discounted a hardware fault due as it only happens in surface mode. I will contact samsung hopefully they will be able to fix the problem with this hardware fix.

    • Nick
      November 8, 2012 at 11:37 am

      Our faulty table was fixed yesterday in about 20 minutes by swapping out the mainboard. Seems the first batch had some bad resistors, all is well now. I would recommend to have them bring a new mainboard right away, but I assume Samsung will be able to recognize these issues now.

  6. Nacho
    November 29, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Hi,
    I have a unit that seems to have the same symptoms, so I have contacted (minutes ago) with some Samsung technical support (still waiting an answer). Somebody that has already resolved the issue can bring me some contact information to streamline the request.

    Thanks in advance

    • Serge
      November 29, 2012 at 10:54 am

      The only contact is your Samsung local support. you need to open an incident request on their seide and they will get back to you within 24 hours ( at least for me).They will change CPU board and graphic cards

  7. Nacho
    November 29, 2012 at 11:48 am

    OK, thanks.
    I want to comment one more thing about the issue.
    The symptoms are very equal, but different only in one aspect, my issue is not exactly after ten minutes that the screen goes black, some times before and sometimes after. And we think that is not related with time neither with the interaction. But, for sure is related with the graphics card.

    Yours was exactly after 10 minutes?
    Thanks again.

  8. burakersoy1903
    April 9, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    We are considering buying an SUR 40 but a bit concerned about 1) reports of how sluggish it can get, and 2) black screen issues. It seems that the stock hardware specs; CPU, memory…etc. may be an issue. Ideum Platform 55″ seems to be another option. Any feedback? Your input will be greatly appreciated.

    • Serge
      April 10, 2013 at 6:46 am

      The samsung SUR40 is an incredible device and the way it has been build with existing hardware is really ok for Surface application. It has been study for that. Samsung is garanting hardware followup so I would not have any worried from that side. Please note that I am not in the brain of Samsung people to know how it will be in future. The black screen issue was a know issue at the earlier release of the product on graphic card side but this is solve for a long time now.
      The choice of your material will be based on your need and not on what you can ear from others about the product. Personnaly all our customer using it are really happy. If you will never need object recognition, if you need more that 40″ screen, then teh SUR40 is not for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

